The US Penny: Will it last?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Hunt1, Jun 28, 2010.

?

Will the penny last?

Poll closed Aug 27, 2010.
  1. No

14 vote(s)
    25.0%
  2. Yes

19 vote(s)
    33.9%
  3. Yes- But the design will change

5 vote(s)
    8.9%
  4. It will last for 1-10 more years

10 vote(s)
    17.9%
  5. It will last for 11-20 more years

8 vote(s)
    14.3%
  1. Hunt1

Hunt1 Active Member

So im sure this has been discussed before on and on and rumors circulate alot about this topic. Im not sure if the penny really cost more to make than its worth, im not a expert on it but do you guys think that the penny will last 10 or 20 years for now, and will the current union shield design last, or what is your opinion on the penny?

Again this probably has been discussed before.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. panda

panda Junior Member

i think it was talked about a few times recently.

it cost more to make, i am not sure on the exact numbers, but they make enough off of dimes and quarters to make up for it. not to mention on bills.

i love the new shield reverse, i definitely like it a lot more then the memorial reverse.

and i honestly don't see the united states dropping the cent anytime soon, at least i hope not because i love collecting them.

now i could see them making the cents out of something else. same with the nickel. even if its a low quality product, i could see it happening.

4. Hunt1

Hunt1 Active Member

I love the new design but i like the wheat design alot more simply because it says one sent centered.

5. coleguy

coleguy Coin Collector

People have been saying the cent is worthless and will be discontinued for well over 100 years now. It hasn't gone anywhere, obviously, and I don't see it going anywhere in any of our lifetimes. Value has no impact on longevity. A case in point is everything under $20. I'm sure 80 years from now our grandkids will be having this same discussion....for the 982nd time.
    Guy~