The Similarity

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Endeavor, Oct 13, 2015.

1. Endeavor

Endeavor Well-Known Member

This was posted by someone on Instagram (credit in image). I saw it and thought it would be interesting to discuss on this forum. I also have a few questions about it...

1) Is this some sort of cost saving measure by the Mint?

2) Was this done intentionally to create interest somehow?

3) Do you think it is just a total coincidence and maybe the Mint didn't even notice?

Screenshot_2015-10-13-12-56-14-1.png

NSP, Lisa1980 and paddyman98 like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Cascade

Cascade CAC Variety Nerd

I wondered the same thing when I bought some pucks a few days ago. How similar these two are is uncanny. I think everglades looks like a robot bird though

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

How many different birds appear on these 2 quarters? 4 :woot::woot::woot::woot:

Everglades Florida -
    Appearing on the Everglades quarter is an Anhinga with outstretched wings on a willow tree with a Roseate Spoonbill visible in the mid-ground.

Bombay Hook Delaware -
    Featured on the quarter’s reverse is a depiction of a Great Blue Heron and
    a Great Egret within their native environment of the refuge’s tidal salt marsh.

techwriter and Endeavor like this.
  5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Endeavor likes this.
  6. messydesk

messydesk Well-Known Member

Artistic laziness.

swamp yankee, ToughCOINS and Endeavor like this.
  7. Endeavor

Endeavor Well-Known Member

Having lived in south Florida I can tell you those birds do look like robots (or statues) when they stand with their wings open. They dive into the water for fish so that's how they dry. It's actually natural behaviour although it doesn't look so.

8. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder