The LIBERYY Cent Enigma

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by paddyman98, Jan 11, 2018.

?

How does the LIBERYY occur?

1. Interesting.. I want to know!

42.3%
  2. Not interesting.. Who cares!

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. I never noticed.. Thanks 4 the info!

30.8%
  4. I have noticed.. But it's all just PMD

34.6%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Hi all,
    This morning there was once again another Cent with the famous PMD case of the letter T in LIBERTY that looks like a letter Y.
    I agree it is definitely damage. But get this.. It has occurred many times. Over the years I have seen and saved images of different examples of this issue. I consider it, an Enigma..
    Could they all just be a coincidence? Or maybe some individual or individuals with a weird desire to hit the letter T and put these Cents into circulation to be found?
    What are your thoughts?... Or could it be you? o_O

Here are the examples I have seen over the years.
    (I had one once but misplaced it :()
    yy 1955.JPG yy 1969.JPG yy 1972.JPG yy 1976.JPG yy 1977.JPG
    This last one is the worst of the six.. But you can kind of still see it -
    yy 1978.JPG

Last edited: Jan 11, 2018
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. rickmp

rickmp Frequently flatulent.

There is an old coot that lives in a lean-to in the backwoods of Tennessee that, when he's not shinin', he's doing this to all of his pennies before returning them to circulation.

CygnusCC, Stevearino, Kasia and 9 others like this.
  4. CoinCorgi

CoinCorgi Tell your dog I said hi!

Start a new sub-forum "Enigma Chat".

5. CoinCorgi

CoinCorgi Tell your dog I said hi!

Why doesn't the same happen to the quarter? Or does it and I just haven't seen it? Are all of the other "T"s protected by the rim or some other raised device? Copper is softer?

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 11, 2018
    paddyman98 likes this.
  6. Barbermania