The economics of things

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Nvb, Dec 16, 2018.

1. Nvb

Nvb Well-Known Member

As much as this is a hobby about passion and NOT investment, good coins are costly and should be a reasonable store of wealth over long term, so I have some questions.
    Does the coin market fluctuate over the long term? Does it go in and out of style or have bubbles and busts? I've been a student of economic asset bubbles lately so its interesting to me. Any anecdotal input from long time collectors/ dealers would be awesome.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. baseball21

baseball21 Well-Known Member

Everything has economic ups and downs

4. Bing

Bing Illegitimi non carborundum Supporter

It is my impression over 35 years of collecting that prices kinda keep pace with inflation, but I haven't noticed what I would call bobbles or busts. Although I have seen fluctuation up and down as a result of large quantities (read that as hoards) being discovered and released for sale. The same can be said for fewer coins of certain examples being offered. But all-in-all, ancient coin collecting is not like the stock market imho.

Nvb and Silverlock like this.
  5. Silverlock

Silverlock Well-Known Member

For what it is worth, I had the same question and there was thread on this subject on Forum that I can’t find right now. My takeaways were stamps collapsed due to a speculation boom and bust and never recovered. Likewise, US Coins dropped 25% or more in the past year or two due to over-speculation by non-collectors on slabbed coins. Ancient coins (so far) have avoided this type of externally generated boom-bust cycle. Ancient coins peaked in 2008 and still haven’t recovered to pre-2008 recession prices, but they are rising slowly and steadily. That’s what that thread concluded. I’m interested to hear what folks here think as well.

Nvb likes this.
  6. baseball21