The Count of Monte Cristo

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by Noah Worke, Sep 14, 2022.

1. Noah Worke

Noah Worke Well-Known Member

For a school assignment over the summer, I read the monstrous "Count of Monte Cristo" and, having enjoyed it so much, began to look at coins that could tie in to the book. Edmond Dantés had 4 alternate identities that he used throughout the book. Abbé Busoni, the Italian, Lord Wilmore, the Englishman, The Count of Monte Cristo (from Monte Cristo) and Sinbad the Sailor, whose nationality isn't directly mentioned, but he is named after "Arabian Nights". Because of this, I thought I would buy four coins relating to the novel, creating a "Monte Cristo Collection". The novel took place from 1815 to 1844, so I'm looking for coins in that timeframe as well as from the four places his alternate identities are from. France (since Monte Cristo has no official coinage), Italy, England, and for Sinbad the Sailor, an Arabian coin. I have no knowledge of that part of the world, but that's what this is about. As a bonus, I will also probably buy a coin from Spain and Greece, since they are also important lands in this novel. I haven't been looking at any terribly expensive coins (I have to fund my Black Series addiction after all) but Boardwalk Numismatics has been mainly where I have been browsing. Anyway, if anyone has anything to add or any advice in my search, I'd appreciate it and I invite you all to post your coins that could relate to the Count of Monte Cristo!

IrishLuck, panzerman, Chris B and 6 others like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. dirty_brian

dirty_brian Well-Known Member

Morocco is considered 1 of the Arabic countries. you could start with that
    1934 Morocco.jpg

panzerman and Noah Worke like this.
  4. J.T. Parker

J.T. Parker Well-Known Member

Hello Noah,