The cost of grading coins

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Speeksoft, Jan 19, 2018.

1. Speeksoft

Speeksoft New Member

Hello kind folks,

My inherited collection mostly consists of wheat cents. Most are circulated coins but I have come across a few that appear About Uncirculated or Very Fine. I’m interested in getting these graded. I’m still new to this hobby so bare with me.

My question is what do you think the cost of getting 10 coins graded would be? In general, what factors go into your decision to grade a coin? What are the benefits? How long does it usually take? I am on a very tight budget and don’t have extra money to throw at this hobby, so any knowledge you can drop to help me navigate will be enormously appreciated.

Thank You!

:)

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Gilbert

Gilbert Part time collector Supporter

In truthfulness, I have never had a coin graded. But the value of the coin would determine whether to have it professionally graded. Check prices of coins online before doing anything.

4. Gilbert

5. Gilbert

Edit

Last edited: Jan 19, 2018
  6. baseball21

baseball21 Well-Known Member

260ish for 10.

It depends why you want it graded. If it’s sentimental and you’re keeping forever that’s good enough.

If it’s financial then they need to have a shot at being nice enough to get te grade being worth it. Aka does the grading fee increase the value enough to cover it when it’s done. Some other coins there’s really no choice, they’re faked so much you basically have to grade them for them to be sellable.

Garlicus and Santinidollar like this.
  7. Kasia

Kasia Got my learning hat on