Straight clip planchet 50% ?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Marites Foertsch, Sep 18, 2021.

1. Marites Foertsch

Marites Foertsch Honey bunch

BF997E75-C2A8-4F53-942E-D2CCF96FB1D3.jpeg I actually have no idea if my coins is real or not I just keep buying and buying even I was quite here I just love to collect all different coins. Everyone I need opinions please thank you all so much… 3DBEB344-C751-4B1B-A25B-D96B734640FF.jpeg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. GH#75

GH#75 Trying to get 8 hours of sleep in 4. . .

Very old and has a counter-stamp. I think it might just have been cut in half... Show a picture of the edge please.

Marites Foertsch likes this.
  4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

That is definitely not a straight clip.
    Probably broken or cut as mentioned.

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I hope you're not paying too much money for stuff you have no idea what they could be.

6. SensibleSal66

SensibleSal66 U.S Casual Collector / Error Collector

Lawnmower Job ? Maybe it was sold as a 4 Reale ?

7. Jaelus

Jaelus The Hungarian Antiquarian Supporter

This was common for them to be cut in circulation to make change, since a dollar was a lot of money. These coins circulated in the US until 1857. An 8 reale could be quartered twice to make 8 pieces (pieces of 8). Each piece was one reale (12.5 cents) with two pieces being a quarter dollar (the origin of 2 bits meaning a quarter).

8. Mountain Man

Mountain Man Supporter! Supporter

Hope you got it cheap enough and just to educate yourself.

9. potty dollar 1878

potty dollar 1878 Well-Known Member

Its an old piece of a Spanish copper coin 1700-1800's

10. Insider

Insider Talent on loan from...

Are you sure its copper? ;) Look up Tortola C/S.

The OP or another member can then ID the piece. All that's left is to authenticate it.

11. potty dollar 1878