Stop Collecting Presidential Dollar Coins

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by jwa_jwa_jwa, May 26, 2011.

?

Is it a good idea to collect the Prez coins to sell in a complete series collection?

1. Yes

33.9%
  2. No

66.1%
  1. jwa_jwa_jwa

jwa_jwa_jwa Senior Member

I have been collecting the presidential dollars since 2007. I've either got a 250 coin mint bag, mint roll or bank roll for every single president. Where I have obtained bank rolls, the fewest number of bank rolls I have is 6.

It's now 4 years later and I'm starting to get 'collection exhaustion'. We still have another 5 years before the series ends and I'm seriously considering not collecting the series anymore.

What was my plan all along? I was willing to bet there would be more than one buyer out there who would want to buy an entire collection of Presidential coins for their kids, grandkids, etc.

It has been said over and over that the 'individual' dollars have lost value since 2007 and there are so many made that they are not ever going to have any value above their issue price; point well taken.

However, is the idea of looking to sell them in collections a good one or a loser?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Copper Head

Copper Head Active Member

I can't see sets of them having much, if any, of a premium. You might end up better selling the rolls at some point. Then again, a lot can happen and you may be on to something.

4. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

Do you have both mintmarks for each President? If so, keep buying all of the issues, and when the program has ended, sell them all to Coin Vault at 4x face.

Chris

5. jwa_jwa_jwa

jwa_jwa_jwa Senior Member

No I stopped collecting both mint marks because they were just too hard to find and to try to keep up the collection.

6. CamaroDMD

CamaroDMD [Insert Clever Title] Supporter