Slovakia - 2 Euro Commemorative - Stickman

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by paddyman98, Jan 24, 2019.

1. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Hi all,
    One more coin I picked up at the NYINC Coin Show

Slovakia - 2 Euro
    2000 Commemorative Issue
    10th Anniversary of the European Monetary Union

Obverse
    The coin shows a stick figure which merges into the € symbol.
    https://en.numista.com/catalogue/pieces5092.html
    20190124_172238-1.jpg 20190124_172200-1.jpg

Forgive me for my blurry pictures. Looking to get me some good equipment for better shots. My Cellphone camera sucks!

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. furryfrog02

furryfrog02 Well-Known Member

That's one of my favorite 2 Euro reverses. I picked it up when I was in Germany.

Hookman and paddyman98 like this.
  4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

5. chrisild

chrisild Coin Collector

That 2009 coin which commemorates the 10th anniversary of the introduction of the euro as a currency (and for non-cash payments) was a joint issue again. That is, each euro area member state issued such a piece. Back then that meant 16 countries. All coins have the same design* but differ with regard to the language of the inscription. The design was picked in a public vote, with the names of the designers initially being secret. Unfortunately the info that this "stickman" design had been done by Georgios Stamatopoulos of the Greek Mint somehow became public before the end of the vote, and a campaign among some Greek began to support that design.