Silver Proof Sets vs Proof Sets and question

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by JeffsRealm, Aug 31, 2016.

1. JeffsRealm

JeffsRealm Active Member

So as I mentioned I am pretty new to this. I am working on still building up a collection though going through that massive amount of coins I inherited. However, I decided to experiment with a $100 and what I think is a pretty safe experiment. Please let me know if I am wrong on this.

Anyway, I went to the US Mint. The real one the .gov site not the .com one. I bought 2016 silver proof set and 2015 silver proof set. I figured, why not, proof seems to be the best plus silver has at least a melt value. There were also only about $20 more than the regular proof set. Plus I figure I might be able to get most of the regular coins in pocket change someday. Also it seems that regular proof sets seem to go down in value at least new ones.

Then, I found on ebay a 1971 proof set, just regular according to the red book there wasn't a silver proof set. This year has meaning to me. It was only a couple dollars over red book value. So I figured why not. I am kind of dipping my toes in the water so while I may have over paid, the year does hold a meaning to me.

Ok, now I have to silver proof sets in hand, I can't honestly say I am not a fan of them. They are just too shiny, like the toy that sits in a box never used. No real feeling to it. As I am going through change and other things there are characteristics, dirt, scratches and things that do me really brings out more detail, more feeling in the coin. The regular 1971 proof set is actually more appealing to me it seems more real. Not as shiny.