Signed Notes - Good Luck Paper Currency

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by paddyman98, Jan 8, 2018.

1. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Hi all,
    I have lived in NYC all of my life. I always remember when I was younger, since the late 1970's, I was fascinated at looking at signed Paper Currency and how Bodega, Deli and fast food joints would post them at or near the cash registers for customers to see. I believe they were the first money they ever made or just a customer who was superstitious and gave the business owner the signed bill to display.
    My Question to you.. Is this something that is practiced in other cities or towns here in the US? Has anyone seen it in other countries?
    Here is a great example I saw recently when I was buying breakfast at a deli -
    20180107_093332.jpg
    Click to enlarge :watching:

Drawde and tommyc03 like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. SteveInTampa

SteveInTampa Always Learning

I’ve seen something similar to this before....once in a bar and another time in a mom & pop restaurant.

paddyman98 likes this.
  4. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member

I've never seen a display this large but a local bar that has long since been out of business had their first ten $1.00 bills set into the bar and then filled over with Lucite. He set them far enough apart so every patron could see one. The owner said he did it for good luck.

paddyman98 likes this.
  5. lettow

lettow Senior Member

I have seen these displays in almost every tavern I have been in in Wisconsin. Including one in Appleton whose walls and ceiling were covered in dollar bills.

tommyc03 and paddyman98 like this.
  6. Drawde

Drawde Lurking and learning...

The walls and every surface available are covered with greenbacks in "The Purple Parrot" resteraunt in Rehoboth Beach, DE. AND the Prime Rib is Great!

paddyman98 likes this.
  7. Dave L

Dave L Junior Member