Should I have my coins graded?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Gnobodyuknow, Aug 9, 2019.

1. Gnobodyuknow

Gnobodyuknow New Member

Hello All,

I am veery new to coin roll hunting and collecting of US currency. I have a decent collection of challenge coins and specialty coins I have been building for about 30 years now and it is very small. I wasn't really actively collecting just picking up a coin here and there or earning coins as the opportunity came along.

I have recently though been watching a lot more Youtube videos by JBCOINSINC, Quins Coins, and Pams Coins and have started to take a much more active and now addicting interest in this hobby. Recently after watching a couple of videos I have searched through my coins and found, what I think, may be a few gems.

1919s Wheat Cent in decent condition
    1982d Washington Quarter in ok condition
    1958d Wheat Cent in good condition with some toning
    1943 Steel Wheat Cent in amazing condition
    1977s Proof Half-Dollar in amazing condition

My biggest question is are any of these really worth having graded? I don't want to bother with the $200+ dollar grading fees from NGC if it isn't really worth it. Should I take these into a Numismatist and have them take a look first? I live around DFW, can anyone suggest one?

Thank you for your time.

Attached Files:

Ima Dragon and eddiespin like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Clawcoins

Clawcoins Damaging Coins Daily

No.

remember, "amazing condition" is your perception of it's "quality". Which may not be even close to an actual grade.

which you may want to check your "grading skill" compared to this website
    https://www.pcgs.com/photograde#/Kennedy/Grades

4. Kasia

Kasia Got my learning hat on

No, grading should only be done if you know what the grade will be and if you know the value of the coin is enough to clear the costs of grading. Please ignore most of YouTube coin things.

Ima Dragon and Santinidollar like this.