Shiny 1978 quarter with no mint marks

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Pmccooey, Dec 7, 2016.

1. Pmccooey

Pmccooey New Member

New member here. I have a question about a quarter I came across. Its extremely shiny with no clad marks on side. I originally pulled it out because I thought it was silver. It also has no proof marks. Does anyone know if its anything? Here are some pics.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Dougmeister

Dougmeister Well-Known Member

I think it has been plated

4. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

Ditto!

Chris

5. Kentucky

Kentucky Supporter! Supporter

What does it weigh?

6. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

No Mint Mark means it was minted at the Philadelphia Mint.
    I also say it's been plated.

7. mikenoodle

mikenoodle The Village Idiot Supporter

The coin looks to be plated. The best place to start is to weigh the coin.
    Weigh the coin in grams and tell us what the result is. We can then give you a better idea if it is plated or not and go from there.

8. Pmccooey

Pmccooey New Member

On my digital scale a 'normal quarter weighs 5.7 grams. This quarter weighs 5.7 grams

9. mikenoodle

a silver clad (40%) blank would weigh 5.7 grams

the weight is correct for a Mint error.

Better pictures would be helpful.

Last edited: Dec 7, 2016
  10. Pmccooey

Pmccooey New Member

Thanks. Why would someone plate a quarter?

11. mikenoodle

The silver clad issues of these coins all came from San Francisco, whereas this coin was struck in Philadelphia.

I would recommend taking it to someone with a really accurate scale to weigh it, and if it weighs 5.7 g, then take it to an expert for further authentication.

12. mikenoodle

People do it all of the time. reasons vary. Some reasons even make sense to some people.

13. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter