Series 1928 $100 FRN beginner's question

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by JTL, Nov 27, 2016.

1. JTL

JTL Member

I am relatively new to US currency collecting, and I recently bought a series 1928 $100 FRN in XF condition, as per the RCGS holder it is in.

As a beginner collector, one of my chief concerns is that I dont unknowingly purchase a counterfeit note, and it is my understanding that the US $100 is one of the most counterfeited notes out there. I like to use the fingertip feel test of the raised printing on US bills to check authenticity; however in this case, the note is in a holder from Rare Currency Grading Service, and I assume you cannot --or should not-- remove the note from a grading service holder, once it has been graded. With that being the case, how much should I rely upon the RCGS grading and authentication without being able to handle the note out of the holder? I cant seem to find a website or any information about the company online. Are they still in business?

Since I bought the note for a relatively inexpensive price, I am less concerned about the accuracy of the grading on the holder than I am about getting stuck with a counterfeit. Any advice or input from US currency collectors would be very welcome

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

First, welcome to the neighborhood @JTL !

I've never heard of RCGS, but then again, I don't collect paper money. I have owned some paper money that was graded by PMG, the NGC affiliate and I believe that PCGS also grades paper money. Beyond that, I wouldn't trust another grading service. If, as you say, you haven't found anything online about RCGS, I'd be more concerned that the note is over-graded by some basement slabber rather than being counterfeit.

I could be totally wrong, so I'll wait to see if others chime in.

Chris

4. SteveInTampa

SteveInTampa Always Learning

Welcome to Coin Talk @JTL