Seeking advice on world coin collection

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by Miz Zie, Jul 19, 2015.

1. Miz Zie

Miz Zie New Member

Hi all,

I am currently new to coin collection. My father had handed me 2000 coins from all over the world he had collected for last couple of years. I have no experience as a coin hobbyist, but I would like to become one.

Please help me with tips and advices on how to categorize them- some I do not even know where these coins are used because they are in different language-store them and probably sell some.

All tips are appreciated in advance.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. chrisild

chrisild Coin Collector

One common way of categorizing your coins would be by country. In some cases that should be easy, in others (no or abbreviated country name, scripts that you are not familiar with, etc.) it will be tougher. As long as you don't make 2,000 "please identify" posts here ;) photos will help ...

techwriter and paddyman98 like this.
  4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Hello welcome to Cointalk! :woot:
    First thing you need is patience. I too inherited my dads world coin collection, a bit more than 2000 coins, and it took me awhile to sort them out.
    Asian letters you might have trouble because each country is different, China, Japan and Korea have different forms of characters.
    Arabic letters are all similar but is used in different areas such as Egypt, Iraq, Sudan, Pakistan etc.
    I like to use a website called Numista - there you can search for almost any coin when you provide the info of your coin such as country, date, design, value.
    On the top of the website just hit the Catalogue tab, hit Search and then Advanced Search. It's a good tool and you don't even have to join.

Any problems just post a picture here on Cointalk and we can try to help. But one at a time. Like chrisild stated don't post all 2000 coins at the same time... patience!