Scared to buy raw coins?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by planman2014, Jan 26, 2016.

1. planman2014

planman2014 Active Member

Thread to share stories of raw coin or coins that you did not buy because
    A) Did not collect.
    B) Way beyond what you want to spend
    C) Not confident enough to buy raw.

When I first started collecting I had a guy in Des Moines claim to have an 1893-s Morgan raw. I just could not believe it. I was first starting out and he wanted $4000 and I don't think I'd spent a total of $1000 at that point.

I passed.

2 weeks later.......friend bought it, came back AU Details.
    Damn.

Part II:
    I know an entire family that has a hoard of ancient coins. It was split 4 ways between the children. I am sure it is worth a ton of cash but I do not collect Ancients and have told them I am a novice in that area. They still email me pictures of a few coins every know and then and I spent hours researching them.

They could have a 10 million dollar collection for all I know.

Evan8 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Evan8

Evan8 A Little Off Center

A couple of years ago i found a raw 1856 flying eagle cent on ebay. It was really worn, holed, and you could just barely make out the 6. However the coin location was in Austria. Immediatly i have concerns but i start bidding on it anyways. It was three days from ending on auction and really cheap. Im sure there were people with similar concerns. I was winning with a bid of $350.00. Crazy. I figured if i won and it was fake or altered i could file a claim through ebay since the seller claimed it was real. But anyways i lost in the last 15 seconds and was outbid by three other people. The final price ended up $515.00. I would have bid more but i was saving for vegas since i was turning 21 a week later. In a way im glad i didnt get it cause it would probably be fake but i guess i will never know.

4. Paul M.

Paul M. Well-Known Member