Samples?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Sam Stone, Jul 1, 2022.

1. Sam Stone

Sam Stone Old, fat, bald, gray, ugly, lazy, and married

By far, cointalk has been the most empathetic forum I've been able to find and I want to start by saying thank you. I have found I genuinely enjoy looking for are error coins and unique dollar bills. Unfortunately, I can only keep a few as being disabled means if I can sell what I find for just a very small amount above face value, I can contribute to the family's finances. I've collected a few bills with unusual serial numbers (ex: 2017 $1 bill, serial no. 00020240) and star notes but I have failed miserably when I would post these things on eBay. I can virtually copy a successful sale's verbiage and only get 2 or 3 total views. I can also offer a star note in pristine condition and not get a $1.01 offer. Clearly, I have zero experience with coins, selling coins, or eBay. So, keeping in mind I would almost take the 1¢ profit, but 2¢ helps the family twice as much, I have 2 questions: 1) is there a magic formula for selling interesting things, and 2) is there somewhere I can purchase a "demo" sampling of error coins? I have some coins that look like the photos online, but I can't be certain. For example, I wouldn't want to unintentionally deceive anyone by not knowing if a coin truly is double die or if my eyes just aren't that good. I absolutely can't understand die cracks. I've studied and studied but I think if I don't have an example in my hands I just don't know. My disability is a nuisance, and depending on the day I may or may not be able to retain what others learn much easier.

I'll stop here or I could write a 10,000 word essay, but be assured any and all input is appreciated more than I'm able to put into words. I wish you all the very best and thank you for your time.

Mickey in PDX, jamor1960 and expat like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98