Saint Gaudens die crack?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by AndR101, Aug 29, 2019.

1. AndR101

AndR101 New Member

6B239E96-A712-4631-A826-3C4038794FE6.jpeg Has anyone had experience with marks such as the one on pictured Saint Gaudens? Initial appraisal has advised that it is likely caused by a die error, and not a scratch. Apparently it lacks sharp edges that would be characteristic of a scratch, however I am only aware of a die causing a raised line, not not an indent like this. What are your thoughts about how this would affect the coin’s value?

Any feedback greatly appreciated

Attached Files:

Last edited: Aug 29, 2019
    GoldFinger1969 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. C-B-D

C-B-D Well-Known Member

Looks like it's struck thru wire.

4. AndR101

AndR101 New Member

Thanks C-B-D. How would you expect it to affect the desirability of a 1921 Saint Gaudens? I am very new to the numismatic world...

5. Treashunt

Treashunt The Other Frank

either a struck thru or a scratch

eddiespin likes this.
  6. C-B-D

C-B-D Well-Known Member

They're not as bad as lamination errors (the shunned step-child of errors - no one pays a premium unless they're hugely dramatic), but they aren't very collectable. Someone may pay a premium for it if it gets graded in a Mint Error holder, but maybe only a couple hundred bucks, max. That's just a guess, though.

7. AndR101

AndR101 New Member

Thank you

8. AndR101

AndR101 New Member

Thanks again

9. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

Where did you learn this? PMD in the form of a scratch or a gouge will often have coin metal pushed out and up along the edge which would hardly be termed as a "sharp edge".

Chris

10. AndR101

AndR101 New Member