Russian coin, fake or real?

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by Sardar, Feb 21, 2016.

1. Sardar

Sardar Member

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Kentucky

Kentucky Supporter! Supporter

Seems like he has several feedbacks acusing him of selling fakes. Beware.

Sardar likes this.
  4. KSorbo

KSorbo Well-Known Member

I'm not an expert in counterfeit detection by any means but all three of those look fake to me. I can't tell you exactly why, they just do, as if they were made in someone's garage in China and sold on Alibaba...

As Kentucky just mentioned, the feedback should be another red flag. The seller's score alone (96%) is so low that I didn't even read into reason for the bad feedbacks.

Sardar likes this.
  5. Taxidermist

Taxidermist Collector of US/IL/RU/DE

Very low quality fakes, absolutely no doubt about it.

Sardar likes this.
  6. Siberian Man

Siberian Man Senior Member

All these coins are fakes. Sorry.

Sardar and spirityoda like this.
  7. Sardar

Sardar Member

thanks for big help. Are there any trustful online seller for Russian coins and medals? secondly are there any online resource for Russian coins prices guide?

8. Taxidermist

There are quite a few on eBay. Just check everything needed to be checked before bidding.

Yes, there are many, here is one of the most used and trusted: http://www.m-dv.ru/catalog/

Also, eBay's "Sold listings" option in search results is a great indicator for prices.

Sardar likes this.
  9. gxseries

gxseries Coin Collector

If you are looking into Imperial Russian coinage, Uzdenikov's 2nd edition catalog is quite decent as it is in both Russian and English. You learn a lot from it and it gives you a good understanding. Unfortunately Russian coins are no longer a bargain and you should never be under the impression that you can get a crown size coin for less than 100 dollars. If so, either it's a terribly worn out example or an ignorant seller or most likely a counterfeit.

Sardar likes this.