Rotated Die...US Mint official tolerance.

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Spark1951, Jan 14, 2019.

1. Spark1951

Spark1951 Accomplishment, not Activity

The question that arises is: does one exist? IMHO...I'd have to say no.

I researched the US Mint's website and its index...no specification or tolerance data found.

I researched error-ref.com...again, no specific tolerance specification found.

I have just finished researching Coin Talk reading old threads but again, no definitive specification found in the twelve threads I found.

Plenty of forum members opined that premiums for rotation doesn't start until 45 degrees. There exists confusion whether it is 15 degrees or 15% (54 degrees) is a minimum. So I ask you...

Can anyone help me find an official Mint specification? Or am I spiraling down the rabbit hole again?...Spark

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Yes... Anything within 45 degrees is within tolerance.. in either direction.

Mr.Q, tmeyer and Kasia like this.
  4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I just got this information from another website -

Quote - "A US coin is purposely rotated the way it is so you can flip it over and the side you flipped to is right side up. Sometimes the dies that strike either Obverse or Reverse can be tilted more to a side.
    You can't tell if the Reverse or the Obverse is rotated.
    It can be Coins with at most 8 degrees are considered in the margin of the US Mint. 90 degrees and over are highly valuable and collectible. 15 degrees and under is not very valuable." Closed quote

With some other information :wacky:

Mr.Q, SmokinJoe, Inspector43 and 2 others like this.
  5. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

I've been accustomed to using the tolerances cited in the book, Official Price Guide to Mint Errors 6th Edition (2002) by Alan Herbert.