Rolled Thin?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by cman, Aug 12, 2010.

1. cman

cman Junior Member

I was at a coin shop and the owner sold me this wheat saying that he had no idea what it was. I looked at it and suspected maybe a rolled thin planchet. Ive been reading up on them and im still not possitive. Heres the coin.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    If it is what is it really worth and should i get it authenticated?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. joey0053

joey0053 ZERT Operator

can you post a picture of the reverse? and a side by side comparison of that plus a regular penny.

4. cman

cman Junior Member

sure. Just give me a minute

5. cman

cman Junior Member

Here you go
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

6. joey0053

joey0053 ZERT Operator

Tell you the truth im not sure about this penny, if it was a rolled thin planchet then it should either be wider around or in an odd shape also it should weigh the same as the regular penny but im no expert. Hopefully someone with more experence will come along with more info.

7. ikandiggit

ikandiggit Currency Error Collector

Appears to have been dipped in acid.

8. cman

cman Junior Member

I thought that but there is no pitting and the deatails are still quite sharp. Its REALLY thin

9. desertgem

desertgem Senior Errer Collecktor