Revolutionary War era coinage

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Cringely, Mar 18, 2012.

1. Cringely

Cringely Active Member

I'm thinking about putting together a set of coins that would have circulated in the 13 Colonies during the Revolutionary War (1775 - 1781). Since I'm not an expert in this time period, I thought I'd ask CoinTalk for some help/advice. The purpose of this is for me to be able to give talks at local schools about the Revolutionary War and one way is to talk about (and show them) money of the period. Ideally, I would like to find coins that are recognizable (G - VF?).

I know the Spanish Milled Dollar (8 Reale) and other Reale denominations circulated, but don't know what they sell for these days. Does anyone know what British coinage circulated in the Colonies (and what they might cost these days)?

I would think the cheapest way would be to find reproductions of the expensive coins (Continental Dollar and the Willow Tree/Oak Tree/Pine Tree coins), but I'd like to know if there are actual Revolutionary War era coins that could be purchased at the $100 level (hopefully less). Looking at the Redbook, I see the Wood's Hibernia Coinage, Virginia Halfpennies and Hibernia-Voce Populi coins are possibilities.

Any advice would be appreciated.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. leaconcen

leaconcen learning constantly

As a history buff of the colonial/revolutionary era, some of my first buys were of this era. First thing to know many are expensive. You maybe be able to find a Massachusetts or New Jersey coinage in your price range. Your first step though should be buying a reliable book on colonial coinage. The redbook gives only a cursory guide.

4. jello

jello Not Expert★NormL®

Watch out for copys !!!!!:thumb:

5. l.cutler

l.cutler Member