Results for $200 in nickels

Discussion in 'Coin Roll Hunting' started by MowzerXD, Nov 23, 2017.

1. MowzerXD

MowzerXD Member

I recently went through $200 in nickels. A couple of cool finds. I got 1 very warn 1944P silver, a buffalo, a handful of really nice 50's, 60's, and 70's, and a 1957 proof. I also got a really nice 1992D. I'm new to collecting newer US coins and i would like some advice on the 1992. It is in great condition with its original luster and full steps. PCGS price is $3000 in MS67, but i highly doubt im that lucky. If you'd like pictures of the 1992 just let me know and i can provide.
    DSC00239.JPG DSC00240.JPG DSC00241.JPG DSC00242.JPG DSC00243.JPG DSC00244.JPG

Kasia and ken454 like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. lordmarcovan

lordmarcovan Eclectic & Eccentric Moderator

Congrats! A Buffalo! Fun find. Nice to find a silver War nickel, too.

The PCGS Price Guide is for coins graded by PCGS. Your chances of getting a 1992-D to grade MS67 are very slim indeed, which is why the quoted price is so high. But even if you did have a PCGS MS67, I wouldn't hold your breath trying to get $3K for it.

4. MowzerXD

MowzerXD Member

Yeah i've seen them go for usually around $1.7k max. Looking at it magnified now there are a few imperfections in the field and i'd probably guess a solid 65. Also im new to proofs. Is there any definite way to tell whether that 1957 is a warn proof, or a great strike of a normal 57'? The only reason im guessing its a proof is because its just barely mirrored with full steps.

5. MowzerXD

MowzerXD Member

I meant to reply to your comment but accidentally posted on my thread lol. anyways my reply and question is on my thread

6. TheFinn

TheFinn Well-Known Member

The '57 looks like an impaired proof. Someone got into dad or grandpa's coin collection it seems.

7. lordmarcovan

I think you mean worn, not "warn".