Relatively new to collecting, my estate sale finds

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by Eric Schlenz, Nov 30, 2015.

1. Eric Schlenz

Eric Schlenz Member

Hello to all! My name is Eric, I'm fairly new to collecting. My focus has been American Silver Eagles. I'm still educating myself on older coins.

I wanted to share with everyone a batch of coins I found at an estate sale over the weekend. I've done a ton of research on each of the coins, primarily to identify their value.

I'm writing to share my finds with the good folks here, and I'm looking for feedback and any general information.

A couple things to note, from my research:

1. I believe the Mass. commonwealth coin to be a reproduction. The font looks very wrong to me. Can anyone confirm this assertion?

2. The USA bar cent, I also believe to be a reproduction, but I'm not 100% sure. The reason I believe it to be a repro is because it seems to have a pock mark on the USA side (casted?), and I don't see the "tooth" people refer to on any of the bars of the opposite side.

3. I believe the other coins to be genuine. And from my research, I believe the 1798 draped bust large cent is the winner of the group. I've identified it as a hair style 1. Beyond that, I have been unable to determine in more detail what variety it is.

So, what do you think? Bare in mind I only paid $10 for the whole group? Do any of the other coins stand out to anyone as ones I should also focus on due to rarity or value?

I greatly appreciate any feedback! Thank you

20151129_130406.jpg 20151129_130445.jpg

Hommer and swamp yankee like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. K2Coins

K2Coins GO GATORS

Looks like you made out really good for only $10. The Massachusetts cent looks fake however

4. green18

green18 Unknown member Sweet on Commemorative Coins Supporter