Red pennies

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Jimm, Jul 17, 2020.

1. Jimm

Jimm Active Member

Would these Lincoln pennies be considered error because of the color and if environment played a role how could they be considered error I thought environment cannot contribute to a coin IMG_20200711_022737612~2.jpg

TonkawaBill and capthank like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

No

4. toned_morgan

toned_morgan Toning Lover

No, but your grammar would. There is no character limit, so type away and use normal sentences.

I don't really understand a thing you put there, but they look completely normal. So first, the color is completely normal. Mint state pennies are red, and that is completely natural. The next bit, I don't quite get.... and then no, environment can completely contribute to a coin. It can contribute negatively or positively. A negative example would be corrosion on a penny like yours when the copper reacts with water and soil and corrodes. That forms a crusty green layer that is not attractive and not good at all. Positive environmental contribution would be like toning. Toning, with Morgan dollars for example, happens when the silver reacts with water, air, and sulfur to create a layer of silver sulfide which bends the light and reflects it with all these beautiful colors.

GH#75, Nyatii, spirityoda and 2 others like this.
  5. lordmarcovan

lordmarcovan Eclectic & Eccentric Moderator

They are in their natural mint Red state. That's not an error. It's how they're supposed to be, if well preserved, which those are.

Mountain Man and LA_Geezer like this.
  6. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

You have too many wrong thoughts. I've told you before that you need to learn about and understand how the minting process works. ~ Chris

7. slackaction1

slackaction1 Supporter! Supporter