Rare or not? Info please.

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Blake Pepper, Apr 27, 2017.

1. Blake Pepper

Blake Pepper New Member

I'm new to coin collecting so I am reaching out to the community. Can some one please tell me what this is called. And if it's worth anything. 1979 d Lincoln cent. these are the best pictures I could take as of now. They do no justice. CM170427-055402001.jpg CM170427-072444001.jpg CM170427-072624002.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Pickin and Grinin

Pickin and Grinin Well-Known Member

This is a vice job. PMD

spirityoda likes this.
  4. Blake Pepper

Blake Pepper New Member

? Could you help me out with the terms you've used? I'm pretty new.

5. Pickin and Grinin

Pickin and Grinin Well-Known Member

The coin in question was put between to other cents. Then torqued with a vise. Pmd is Post Mint Damage.

6. Blake Pepper

Blake Pepper New Member

Wow! Bummer though. May I ask how can you tell. That way I know next time.

7. SuperDave

SuperDave Free the Cartwheels!

1. The lettering is mirror-imaged. This could only happen if another "positive," another coin, was used to impress it. A second strike by a die would read "forward" as well.

2. The feature appears on the highest points of the coin, and the things impressed are also the highest points of a coin. That makes them the deepest points on a die, which couldn't be touched by random contact. Only two coins touching could have done this.

3. There are known errors in which a struck coin stays in the chamber and is forced onto the next planchet. However, this all happens under the 100+ tons of pressure exerted by the press, and in a "real" case the feature transfer would be far stronger as a result. In most cases the second strike all but obliterates the first.

8. JAY-AR

JAY-AR Well-Known Member

Great info Dave! You always have easy to understand info.........I seem to learn something from you weekly!
    Welcome Blake!