Rare BU 1934-D Rainbow Toned Nickel!

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by toned_morgan, Aug 13, 2018.

1. toned_morgan

toned_morgan Toning Lover

Hello everyone,

I just wanted your thoughts on this as I am still quite new to the hobby (only two years), so I need all the help from professionals like people on CoinTalk. If you can, please tell me the grade, the value, and if the toning is real or not. Thanks to all that respond!

Capture d’écran 2018-08-13 à 19.00.23.png Capture d’écran 2018-08-13 à 19.00.28.png

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. ToughCOINS

ToughCOINS Dealer Member Moderator

I don't like the look. I think the coin has been mechanically altered and artificially toned.

Paul M. likes this.
  4. Michael K

Michael K Well-Known Member

It is alive! Personally I could have been convinced that this was some kind of album toning. But as an amateur I can't tell the difference. There's so much coin doctoring going on, and people seem to want rainbow colors. But I believe that fad is starting to wane as those coins won't grade.
    16285337.gif

5. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter

It is certainly attractive. But I am like the others. My “it-don’t-feel-right-alarm” is sounding. Is this one you are itching to buy from like an Internet dealer?

6. TheFinn

TheFinn Well-Known Member

It looks ok - struck on worn dies. It was struck during the depression, so the mints were under pressure to keep costs down and make things last. They did that by lowering the striking pressure, and using dies beyond their useful lifetime. The toning looks original too. Without having it in hand it is hard to tell if it has been cleaned and retoned, but I would venture MS63+ to MS64. The toning will give you a bit of a premium. $80 to $120 area would be a guess to the right person.

7. alurid

alurid Well-Known Member

8. toned_morgan

Yeah it's from eBay.

9. jtlee321

jtlee321 Well-Known Member