Rare 1971 silver quarter ? Can it be

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Alexander Sanchez, Nov 6, 2019.

1. Alexander Sanchez

Alexander Sanchez Active Member

Found this 1971 D coin wich appears to be silver on side of coin looks like IMG_20191106_013049.jpg IMG_20191106_013031.jpg IMG_20191106_013024.jpg IMG_20191106_013020.jpg IMG_20191106_013011.jpg IMG_20191106_013004.jpg just silver no cooper at all. Here are images hope i hit The jackpot.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

You need to provide more information than a picture.
    Could be plated.
    How much does it weight? Do you have a gram scale?

Silver weight - 6.25 Grams
    Clad weight - 5.67 Grams

It's very important you get yourself a gram scale.

Last edited: Nov 6, 2019
    Larry E, Michael K, Spark1951 and 3 others like this.
  4. Alexander Sanchez

So i was incorect. bummer its a clad coin. Weights 5.6 on scale.

5. Alexander Sanchez

I Learn about New varieties every day. Back to the hunt.

Spark1951, Inspector43 and paddyman98 like this.
  6. Treashunt

Treashunt The Other Frank

I'll give ya 32 bazillion $'s for it!

Evan Saltis likes this.
  7. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter

One of the coolest quick checks I found for silver, I learned here on CT. It is not a scientifically definitive test but it works pretty dog-gonned good and I like to share it when I can. All you need is a single ply piece of tissue paper..... Take a known silver coin and a known clad coin and lay a single ply piece of tissue over them. The silver coin will always appear bright through the tissue. Almost as if it is lit up.... Again, this is not an end all test, but darned if it don't work pretty good.

-jeffB likes this.
  8. Pete Apple

Pete Apple Well-Known Member