Random luck find $5 bill

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by Tompkins316, Feb 1, 2011.

1. Tompkins316

Tompkins316 Member

I'm really just a beginner coin collector and never thought about getting into paper

I went to the bank to use the coin counter machine for all the coins I didn't save from my roll searching. The total came out to a little over $27. So the bank teller gets a 20, a 5, and two 1's. When I get out to my car and put the money in my wallet, this is what I find.

A 1953-B $5 bill.

Anyone know if this is worth anything? or just something cool to keep. I've never come across any bills in circulation before with the red dye.

5dollarbill2.jpg 5dollarbill.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Mark14

Mark14 Star Wide Receiver

im not an expert, but i say keep it,

4. Tompkins316

Tompkins316 Member

yeah neither am I, and that's exactly what I thought lol
    If anything it looks cool haha
    And it looks to be in really good shape except for the smudging in the top right corner

5. rickmp

rickmp Frequently flatulent.

A star note, too! Nice!

6. slamster17

slamster17 Junior Member

Definitely keep it. I'm sure it has a small premium over face...I think I just saw one go for $7+ on ebay and that one was NOT a star note...

7. Mark14

Mark14 Star Wide Receiver

i looked it up and its about $8

8. Tompkins316

Tompkins316 Member

sweet deal thanks guys!

9. krispy

krispy krispy

Bank tellers sometimes have these. I guess some people turn them in thinking they are fake or worthless. Tellers often keep them in their old/damaged notes pile.

This is an Fr-1534* USN $5 Legal Tender Series 1953B – Printage: 2,160,000

"A Guide Book of United States Paper Money" 2nd Edition (the 3rd is now out) by Friedberg gives a book value of $50 in VF20.

The condition of your note is pretty darn rough, stained, creased and much more. I'd definitely keep the note but resale value would be tough to get more than 2x face with all the problems here.