Rackateer Nickel with Reeding

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by JCro57, Apr 23, 2019.

1. JCro57

JCro57 Making Errors Great Again

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Kasia likes this.
  4. Double Die

Double Die I know just enough to be dangerous

I got 2 sitting around somewhere I'll have to double check . They were bonuses from a lot in an auction .

5. -jeffB

-jeffB Greshams LEO Supporter

I've got a few as well (including some really lame ones from the wrong year), but no reeded ones. Nice find!

6. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

Very nicec example. I have one in my collection somewhere close by.

7. JCro57

Please post them!

8. JCro57

Would love to see it!

9. JCro57

10. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter

That is so freaking cool!!

JCro57 likes this.
  11. JCro57

I am thinking about getting it replated. Any thoughts, anyone? Will likely leave as is, but would like to hear some thoughts.

12. LakeEffect

LakeEffect Average Circulated Supporter

13. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter

There are pros and cons either way and I completely understand your logic. Entirely personally I would leave it as is. I love blast white coins and I could easily make a case in my own mind to clean a great deal of my collection for my own reasons. I just like them better blast white. However the logic of keeping a crusty old coin original for the next generation makes better sense...... I dunno if any of that makes sense. I just sort of think you would be plating over the history of the piece.

14. JCro57

I agree

15. Seattlite86

Seattlite86 Outspoken Member

Congrats on one with reeding! I’ve got one somewhere but I’m doubtful it has reeding.

Randy Abercrombie likes this.
  16. micbraun

micbraun coindiccted

I heard there are fakes out there :)

17. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder