Question

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by lovecoinswalkingliberty, Apr 23, 2018.

1. lovecoinswalkingliberty

lovecoinswalkingliberty Well-Known Member

The satin 1936 proofs, are called proof but are said to be satin underneath the grade, but other satin finish coins (the mint sets of 2005-2010) are called specimen. WHY???

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Aidan_()

Aidan_() Numismatic Contributor

Eh, come to the Dark Side... It's much easier. ;)

4. CoinBlazer

CoinBlazer Numismatic Enthusiast

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I don't know everything :bored:

Stevearino and Dave363 like this.
  6. CoinBlazer

CoinBlazer Numismatic Enthusiast

Sorry....my apologies, I just knew you were very educated

7. Kirkuleez

Kirkuleez 80 proof

Get back in your corner darksider. :nailbiting:

The satin proofs of 1936 are so called because they have a satin like look. Someone can correct me if I’m wrong here, but I believe the dies were pickled leaving that look on the finished coins. There are also brilliant finish 1936 buffalo nickels. This satin finish is very similar to the modern specimen strikes. The difference between a satin proof and a specimen strike is the number of strikes; proofs are struck twice (at minimum), specimen strikes are intended to be made as though they are intended for commerce and are not necessarily struck twice. All that being said, the terms are used fairly interchangeably especially when you look at mints outside of the US.

Stevearino likes this.
  8. BooksB4Coins

BooksB4Coins Newbieus Sempiterna

Poor Paddy.... I don't envy your, umm, "popularity", friend. ;)