Question: Why are "Junk U.S Silver Coins" on Ebay alway valued as more than the current Silver Price

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Derekg, Mar 24, 2020.

1. Derekg

Derekg Member

For example, some listings for an ounce of junk coins silver are trading for about $23, but when I use Coinflation to check the worth in Silver, it's about double. Why is that?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Ignorance? :bucktooth:
    Greed? :greedy:

Stevearino likes this.
  4. Derekg

Derekg Member

The thing is these are auction. People are paying for it. Is it worth it? I mean, even the American Liberty coins for 1oz sell for $21 right now instead of 13? Even right through the Jmbullion.

5. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter

Folks are selling at replacement cost right now and replacement cost is not spot. The market was turned on its ear last week. It will right itself after this crisis passes.

slackaction1 likes this.
  6. longarm

longarm Well-Known Member

Because coinflation is using the paper price and that's not what you can expect to pay, physical demand is going to outpace supply so the premiums will go up. Consider it the street price.

7. QuintupleSovereign

QuintupleSovereign Well-Known Member

Makes you wonder why derivatives based on gold/silver are even permitted; reminds me of the Bretton Woods Fallacy that the dollar was convertible into gold until, OOPS, it wasn't.

longarm likes this.
  8. fretboard

fretboard Defender of Old Coinage!

The answers to your question! ;)

longarm and Evan Saltis like this.
  9. Mountain Man

Mountain Man Well-Known Member

Also many sellers are listing the total weight of the coins rather than the actual silver content. Run away quickly.

-jeffB likes this.
  10. longarm

longarm Well-Known Member

11. GoldBug999

GoldBug999 Well-Known Member