Question about 1921 Morgan?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by CantAllBeWinners, May 24, 2018.

1. CantAllBeWinners

CantAllBeWinners New Member

So, I’m very new to this coin buying thing. I just received two Morgans in the mail. An 1888-O and a 1921-P. I was given a beautiful 1882-O/S that really puts the two new coins to shame in comparison, but my real question is about the 1921.

When I opened it up, I was immediately struck by how different from my 1882 it looked and felt. I thought I’d been sold a fake. After a bit of research, I understand that there are significant differences between the 1921 and previous years. I no longer think it’s a fake.

I do have a question about the finish, though. It has a fairly matte look to it, and even feels a bit rough to the touch, which is quite unlike the 1882 and 1888. I saw someone mention somewhere that the dies were prepared differently for the ‘21s. Could that be the cause of this roughness? Or is it more likely that this coin has been cleaned at some point? It does have a bit of patina around the features, but not a whole lot.

Here are the seller’s photos:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. rte

rte Well-Known Member

Did you check it out?
    Diameter and thickness?
    Weight and metal content?
    Movement with a strong magnet?

Color Looks Suspect....purchased from where?

4. micbraun

micbraun coindiccted

Doesn’t appear to be authentic.

5. *coins

*coins Well-Known Member

Weigh it. It should be 26.73 grams. I don't think it looks right either.

6. CantAllBeWinners