Ptolemaic AR Tetradrachm

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by SorenCoins, Jun 21, 2019.

1. SorenCoins

SorenCoins Well-Known Member

Hey there guys! I picked up this tetradrachm featuring King Ptolemy I on the obverse and an eagle (standing on lightning bolt I believe) on the reverse. I can not for the life of me ID it though! As I am far from an expert, in fact this is my first tetradrachm-- well first silver greek coin at all!

IMG_2539.JPG IMG_2540.JPG

I hope you guys know better than me! ;)

Soren.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. TIF

TIF Always learning.

It's from a couple hundred years later than Ptolemy I.

https://www.cngcoins.com/Coin.aspx?CoinID=383033

[​IMG]

PTOLEMAIC KINGS of EGYPT. Kleopatra III & Ptolemy IX Soter II (Lathyros). 117/6-108/7 BC. AR Tetradrachm (27mm, 14.34 g, 12h). Alexandreia mint. Dated RY 1 (117/6 BC). Diademed head of Ptolemy I right, aegis around neck / Eagle standing left on thunderbolt; LA (date) to left, ΠA to right. Svoronos 1659; Olivier 4783–807; SNG Copenhagen 347; DCA 60. VF.

4. dougsmit

dougsmit Member

Traditional listings give the ID of the portrait as Ptolemy I but the faces do change over the years so I am unclear on how the experts decided that the intent was to show the founder of the dynasty rather than the then current king. Below is one attributed to Ptolemy I himself. He was a bit distinctive in face. Perhaps the coin of P IX was intended to show us what P I looked like before he 'used' his face so much???
    g92460b00482lg.jpg

5. TIF

TIF Always learning.

I have wondered the same thing but haven't investigated. Maybe there are contemporary carved busts which are known with greater certainty to be later (non-Ptolemy I) kings and which do not resemble the coins of Ptolemy I, so they concluded that the portraits on later coins were an idealized or stylized version of the original Ptolemy?

6. ancient coin hunter

ancient coin hunter 3rd Century Usurper