Proper acetone procedure

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by DLeach, Oct 19, 2011.

1. DLeach

DLeach New Member

Hey gang, I am new to collecting and have some questions about using acetone. I have seen several different threads and posts concerning the use of acetone to help clean and conserve coins, but I havent seen any sort of agreed upon procedure for using acetone. For a moment, lets take the whole arguement about whether or not dipping/soaking the coins is necessary, and focus just on the actual procedure. My specific questions are:

1. I have seen some poeple talk about using three seperate acetone baths. What is the purpose behind that, and do most people do it that way?

2. How long should they sit in the baths?

3. Should I rinse with distilled water afterwards?

Like I mentioned earlier, I have seen little snippits of answers to these questions throughout different posts, but no centralized procedure. I am sure that lots of people do things differently, but I would at least like to get a general consensus.

Now to the "is it necessary" questions:

1. Do you dip/soak all of your new acquisitions as a preventative measure, even if there is no sign of verdigris?

2. Do I risk damaging them by using acetone?

I really appreciate all of the time and energy that you veterans put into helping educate us newcomers.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator

No they don't. But they should. The reason they should is that in the first bath the acetone itself becomes contaminated by whatever was on the coin. The second bath, the same thing happens, but to a lesser degree. By the time the 3rd bath is over any contaminants should be totally removed from the coin.