Proofs

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Ronald J Sweeney, Oct 3, 2018.

1. Ronald J Sweeney

Ronald J Sweeney New Member

Anyone out there a proof collector? I'm just starting out and I love the look of them. Curious has anyone got the reverse proofs? They are expensive for me as I'm just starting. But Are they now orth the investment? Or strictly for Beauty Sake

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. CoinBlazer

CoinBlazer Numismatic Enthusiast

Depends what proofs we are talking about, classic proofs from the 1800s or modern mint proofs?

4. Ronald J Sweeney

Well as I didnt even know of proofs from the 1800s I was talking modern.

5. CoinBlazer

Well regarding your investment question. I believe that pure investment grade bullion should be a government issued coin such as a Maple Leaf or Silver Eagle. I don't believe in using proofs and reverse proof coins as investment. Purchasing them only for collection not portfolio. As an older gentlemen once told me- "The more complex an investment is, the riskier it is"

6. Clawcoins

Clawcoins Damaging Coins Daily

Are we talking Gold Proofs ... or cent proofs or anywhere in between ??

7. Ronald J Sweeney

Silver proof sets

8. Clawcoins

9. Clawcoins

I collect a lot of the silver proof sets which contain all the coins, and also the quarter sets only, also ASE Proofs. Also the limited edition silver sets.

such as:
    upload_2018-10-5_9-9-29.png

and commems
    upload_2018-10-5_9-11-13.png

green18 and mikenoodle like this.
  10. chascat

chascat Well-Known Member