Prooflike 1988p

Discussion in 'Coin Roll Hunting' started by juslystn, Mar 27, 2020.

1. juslystn

juslystn Lets argue

Look at this 1988 I found today...….wow. Ive seen a lot of 88s in my day,but never one that looks even close to as good as this one. It looks prooflike...beautiful fields...no zinc rot or plating blisters...you don't see them like this very often. If that nick below liberty weren't there I would not think twice about having this graded.:bookworm: Just thought I would share,cheers
    88 (2).jpg 88.jpg

Spark1951, NOS and spirityoda like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

If you found it in circulation and it is a Proof Coin then that is considered an Impaired Proof coin.
    Probably not worth getting it graded because of fine scratches and nicks. Your pictures are too dark to determine that.

4. juslystn

juslystn Lets argue

I wouldn't grade it,i was just super surprised to find an 88 in this condition in circulation.

The pics look fine on my screen,sorry if they appear dark,ill mess with my iso settings a bit

Last edited: Mar 27, 2020
  5. Kevin Mader

Kevin Mader Fellow Coin Enthusiast Supporter

Heritage Auction shows an MS67 selling for $86.25 (slabbed, PCGS). I see an 88 D in MS67 selling for $32.50 on the bay. But an MS66 1988 is selling for $12.50. With the nicks on the nose, a few smaller ones in the fields, and the one below LIBERTY, I'm not sure you could get that high. But maybe better lighting and photos would reveal otherwise. Still...a heck of a circulation find!!!

Spark1951 likes this.
  6. physics-fan3.14

physics-fan3.14 You got any more of them.... prooflikes?

Proof would have been made in San Fran and have an S mintmark. This is a Philly coin.

He's saying it's proof-like - not proof.

7. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Duh.. I forgot that! Thanks for the correction