Pretty Wheaties

Discussion in 'Coin Roll Hunting' started by DUSITN HADDOCK, Feb 11, 2017.

1. Found these in a roll I busted open at work, no coin was above the 65' mark, coin roller looked like it could have been that old too!!

I like the Coloration on the bottom right one last pic in the obverse of it in better light.

I have been putting the coins aside I want to keep in good condition in little zip-loc/ pill pouch bag.
    Does copper have any reaction over time to these types of plastics?

IMG_20170210_140255505_HDR.jpg IMG_20170210_140413865_HDR.jpg IMG_20170210_140836935_HDR.jpg

Gilbert, onecenter and calishield like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. DBDc80

DBDc80 Numismatist

not sure....im no expert, but it looks like there may be some damage

4. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member

Short, very short time storage in zip locks as they do have plastisizers that will affect the coins over time. Better off in 2X2's for longer term storage. Or tubes for a bit longer term storage but not permanently. Because they are common dates, air tites would be kind of pricey for these.

DUSITN HADDOCK likes this.
  5. Kentucky

Kentucky Supporter! Supporter

Not 100% sure, but I believe most seal-top bags are made of polyethylene or polypropylene and don't have to have any plasticizers...however they are not much of a barrier to air or other gases.

tommyc03 likes this.
  6. 180IQ

180IQ Active Member

Back into the coin roll, and in a safe with dessicant? The paper roll alone keeps them drier, and they are very cheap, easy to label.

7. 180IQ

180IQ Active Member

I plan to use a little plastic cabinet with the sliding drawers next time I roll hunt the kind for arts and crafts/nuts and bolts. You can get all different sizes, and they are easy to make labels for, masking tape. If the coins are circ, what's one or two more contact marks? Line the drawers with brown paper first.

8. 180IQ

180IQ Active Member