Presidential Dollar with no edge inscription.

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Geoff Wall-Davis, Jul 5, 2015.

1. Hello Coin Talk members.
    I have in my possession a John Quincy Adams presidential Dollar which has no edge inscription. I have done a bit of research on my coin but have found that the only other Presidential Dollars which have no edge inscription are the ones which were minted with the effigy of George Washington and john Adams.
    Can anyone out there give me any information on this Dollar.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Hello Geoff - Can you provide a picture? Some people have buffed down the rims so it really needs to be seen (I'm not saying that's what you did)
    There were quite a few of the Washington and John Adams from the first year issues that had the missing lettering, but any from the second year are much scarcer.

4. Here is a running list of Presidential dollars with missing edge lettering that I found on a coin blog:

2007 Washington Missing Edge Letter Dollar $100 in MS-66
    2007 Jefferson Missing Edge Letter Dollar $150 in MS-66
    2007 Adams Missing Edge Letter Dollar $100 in MS-66
    2008 Vanburen Missing Edge Letter Dollar $200 in MS-66
    2008 Jackson Missing Edge Letter Dollar $200 in MS-66
    2008 Q. Adams Missing Edge Letter SF Dollar $250 in MS-66
    2009 Taylor Missing Edge Letter Dollar $200 in MS-66
    2010 Fillmore Missing Edge Letter Dollar $300 in MS-66
    2010 Pierce Missing Edge Letter Dollar $300 in MS-66
    2010 Buchanan Missing Edge Letter Dollar $300 in MS-66

Not sure where they got the values (ebay, Red Book, etc.), so keep that in mind.

5. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

@TopcatCoin

Well, I guess I did pretty good, TC! My Washington Prez Missing Partial Edge Lettering, NGC MS64, sold a couple years ago on eBay for $228.

Chris