Possibly a 1999 wide "AM" penny?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by GARY R COYIER, Jul 9, 2020.

1. GARY R COYIER

GARY R COYIER Well-Known Member

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

It's a worn die strike. Hard to see the last number.
    And it would be AM not Am. Capital M.

GARY R COYIER likes this.
  4. GARY R COYIER

Grease filled die, but can anyone see a number in the date?

5. GH#75

GH#75 Trying to get 8 hours of sleep in 4. . .

Could it be 1991? That's what I think it looks like. But either way, it's a really nice greaser.

6. GARY R COYIER

It could be a 1 or maybe a 4... wishing it was a 9, but wishing doesn't make it so. LOL. Thought maybe someone here on CT could see something I am not.

7. Mountain Man

Mountain Man Supporter! Supporter

I sure can't tell what the last number is. Maybe try doing a pencil rub lightly on the date to see what comes up?

8. NPCoin

NPCoin Resident Imbecile

LincolnCent-ODV036-markers.jpg

It's a 1991, ODV-036. The 1991 cents were minted with this design variety apparent by the protrusion and defined bowtie. In 1992, the bowtie was revised further to a less defined fold and the adam's apple not as defined. 1993-1999, the throat and bowtie are flattened.

9. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

It's a wide AM but that is a nice greaser.

john65999 and GARY R COYIER like this.
  10. GARY R COYIER

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed answer.

rascal likes this.
  11. Conder101

Conder101 Numismatist

Was ODV-036 used in 1990? because that's the date I'm seeing.

12. Conder101

Conder101 Numismatist

If if you could prove it was a 4 (it isn't) that would be amazing because there are no 1994 WAM cents known or even reported.

13. GARY R COYIER