Possible 1981 proof error

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by mpan72, Mar 23, 2020.

1. mpan72

mpan72 New Member

I was checking a 1981 proof set to see if it was a type one or type two. It is a type one but when I checked the dollar I found the mint mark was not as it should be.

Is this a common error, has anyone seen it before? Could it be valuable? Should I get it certified and graded? I am new to coin collecting but have always been fascinated by the legends of error coins.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Danomite

Danomite What do you say uh-huh

Can you post a full picture? The picture you showed is of the designers initials. The mint mark is above the collar on the left side on SBA’s.

mpan72 and furryfrog02 like this.
  4. furryfrog02

furryfrog02 Well-Known Member

What mintmark? You are showing the designer's initials in your picture...

5. bruthajoe

bruthajoe Still Recovering

I think you answered his question.

furryfrog02 likes this.
  6. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

You need a better understanding of coins before you start looking for errors. ~ Chris

furryfrog02 likes this.
  7. bruthajoe

I love that brutal honesty.

GenX Enthusiast likes this.
  8. furryfrog02

furryfrog02 Well-Known Member

Chris, I just wanted to let you kno that I've got nothin but love for you. I worry about the day I post a coin that isn't that I think it is. Looking forward to being eviscerated by you :)

paddyman98, bruthajoe and Danomite like this.
  9. Michael K

Michael K Well-Known Member

The mint mark on the SBA is on the bottom center left between the hair and shoulder.
    1314-wc.jpg

10. bruthajoe

thin rim?

11. bruthajoe

narrow ? wide,,, I forget. lol

12. mpan72

mpan72 New Member

Thats why you ask questions. Thanks for the clarity on my duh miment.

bruthajoe, Danomite and paddyman98 like this.
  13. Martha Lynn

Martha Lynn Well-Known Member