possible 1973 error quarter

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by NickelHunter, Mar 18, 2013.

1. NickelHunter

NickelHunter New Member

ok guys this will be a pain. I don't have a computer and am posting from my phone, so I can't post a picture, but need some help.
    I have a 1973 quarter that I'm 95% sure is an error. washingtons eye is a perfect circle, and looking through my loupe it looks like a die break.
    if someone could possibly pm me their email address I could send a picture and they could do me the huge favor of posting it here for me?
    it would be greatly appreciated, thanks guys

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. NickelHunter

NickelHunter New Member

anyone? please. I have seen error quarters on ebay go for quite a bit of money and would really like sonebodys opinion.
    I'm new to this so I apologize for any inconvenience..thanks again guys

4. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

Since you can't post a photo, can you tell me if the "circle" appears to be raised or recessed? If it is raised, it's possible that it could be an error of some sort, but if it is recessed, it is likely PMD. This will save you a lot of needless extra effort if it is PMD.

Chris

5. NickelHunter

NickelHunter New Member

thanks for answering chris. it is kinda hard to explain. it looks to me like the smallest hole saw was taken to it. so its risin in the center but the ring around it is recessed.
    but the middle part that's risin looks like part of it broke off?

also while I have you here maybe you can answer another newb questionn?
    I bought three boxs of nickels today the fisrt two from one bank and the third from another.
    fist two not to bad
    third box was all 2013 nickels I even opened a roll to make sure. would it be worth it to hold on to a few rolls and if so what would be the reason or should I just go dump and get another box somewhere else tomorrow?

thanks a lot chris

6. NickelHunter

NickelHunter New Member