Please help

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by jhsmith87, Jan 20, 2012.

1. jhsmith87

jhsmith87 New Member

OK... so i am new to this hobby i have done all the research i think i can do. but man this is such a broad hobby, so many choices, varieties, and ways to collect. my whole life growing up my grandmaw wanted me to collect coins but i never ever thought i would even consider it, it just seemed so boring. (guess i was wrong). So after she died i got a few newer half dollars from her collection that my uncle would let me have. so i thought i could try this out if not for anything at least in her memory, but the more i read and hear about it the more interesting it seems, but i feel like a 3 year old looking for his mom at the world's fair. i dont know where to start, how to start, what to look for, what not to look for.
    every where i read says collect what your coins your most interested in, but the thing is i find them all interesting. so my goal with starting my collection is basicly i want to get a collection going although i dont really have money for it. so i was thinking maybe i could collect coins that are inexpensive right now but that are sure to grow in value in time that way i can pass on to my children when i have some what my grandmaw always tried to pass on to me.
    or maybe just to start some how get some coins for cheap and be able to turn around and sell them for a profit to make money to build a good valuable collection. if that is even possible.
    so ADVICE PLEASE!! AND LOTS OF IT. what are the best coins to get cheaply that may be rare or valuable. or how do i collect them starting out like this with basicly no money? i read some where just get pennies and try to get one from every date as far back as you can. well seems easy enough, but not very much like an investment or valuable collection like i am trying to build.