Please help identify if this is a 2017 p cud error.

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Matthew G., Jan 15, 2019.

1. Matthew G.

Matthew G. Member

image.jpg Hi I’ve been trying to lay low but I have a question I would like to ask. I was going through a $25 dollar penny box when I stumbled upon this 2017 p penny. It looks like a crown is getting blown off the 7 and it is headed towards Lincoln. What is this?

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Matthew G.

Matthew G. Member

Also there seems to be a line under the A and M in AMERICA.

4. Amos 811

Amos 811 DisMember

I see no cuds around the rim, where were you thinking? The crown is probably damage.

5. Matthew G.

Matthew G. Member

Sorry I’m new to the error terms I thought since the crown was raised and I’m a strange spot it could be an error.

6. Matthew G.

Matthew G. Member

7. SlipperySocks

SlipperySocks Well-Known Member

The crown is where another coin with reeded edging(.25c or .10c) fell onto and dented the cent.

tommyc03 likes this.
  8. Michael K

Michael K Well-Known Member

Cuds are blobs of metal on/near the rim.
    Can these zinc atrocities even get cuds? Paddy would know.

paddyman98 likes this.
  9. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

@Matthew G.
    That's not a CUD
    As mentioned it is just a hard hit from another coin that has a reeded edge.

Damaged. Not a Mint Error

10. Idries Pappas

Idries Pappas Well-Known Member

11. Matthew G.

Matthew G. Member

I understand it is just damaged but it isn’t a dent, it is a raised chunk of metal. Or am I just being too faithful in this worthless coin?

12. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

These are CUDs
    http://cuds-on-coins.com

It's raised probably because the edge of the other coin pushed the metal upwards.

13. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER