Planchet Defect, or Damage

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by mitch721, Apr 11, 2017.

1. mitch721

mitch721 New Member

I have an 1858 FE in nice original AU condition, and has been in a 2x2 for years. I was preparing to send it to ANACS, and saw this "hole" on the Rev., just below the "O" in one. The metal appears to be cracked and uneven. Would appreciate your opinions whether you think it's planchet defect, or damage. Also, if it is a planchet defect, would that affect the value negatively. There are small amounts of original mint luster outside the lettering on the Obv.

Close​

Last edited: Apr 11, 2017
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. -jeffB

-jeffB Greshams LEO Supporter

4. mitch721

mitch721 New Member

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

You missed Klingon :greyalien:

6. mitch721

mitch721 New Member

This is Mitch 721. For those of you who think that you need to be psychics to see the coin, that is
    NOT true. I have two clear photos to post, but they did not show up.
    This is my first venture on COIN TALK, and would be grateful if someone (anyone) would please
    tell me how to get my photos to
    the site. Much Thanks.

7. mitch721

mitch721 New Member

That's Funny!! I have no idea how
    all of those countries showed up. I
    was attempting to add my 2 photos. I figured out how to erase the countries, and now NO ONE will
    know what the heck we are talking about. (What about Persia?-I think
    I also missed that.)

paddyman98 likes this.
  8. mitch721

mitch721 New Member

Hi Jeff: Yes, [Oh, my]-[Oh, my]-[Oh, my.] I'm embarrassed !!! Please read my replies below. I attempted to add my photos, and the countries of the UN printed out.
    I do not have any idea what happened. It should all clear up
    after someone tells me how to add my photos. PLEASE stop worrying: I
    wouldn't want you to go to bed with this heavy burden on your mind.

9. rickmp