Pizza for Coins

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by YoloBagels, May 1, 2021.

1. YoloBagels

YoloBagels Well-Known Member

Hello everyone,

So I recently shared this story with some friends of mine, and the more I think about it the funnier and more heartfelt it is to me; so I figured I'd share it here too.

The year was 2016. It was Friday on the second week of my first year in high school.

Back then I was a 9th grade freshman and had just recently started collecting coins; my entire collection was essentially a 1923 mercury dime and a few wheat pennies.

So I got used to sitting with some of my old elementary/middle school friends at lunch every day. We just did the typical dumb stuff 9th graders do, I rarely talked about numismatics. So one day one of my long-time friends pulls out a 1952 Benjamin Franklin half out of his wallet, and asks to place a bet of whether or not the vending machines will take it.

I recognized it from the pictures of Franklin halves in the 2016 Redbook; the one that my LCS dealer had given me two weeks earlier. Then I offered to double his money for it. He counter-offered to trade it to me for a slice of microwaved red baron Hawaiian pizza.

I accepted the trade; and one of my other friends turned to us and said "You know as soon as he gets home he's gonna sell it online for 50 bucks."

Well, here I am in May of 2021. Half a decade, a jamboree, a pandemic, a graduation later and I still have the darn coin. Supposedly the half dollar was taken from his older brother's (who was then in the military/college, forgot which) coin jar. Whenever I look at this coin I think of the innocence me and my friends had back then; and yet it feels like only yesterday.