PERU - Sol De Oro - 1973 Coin Spill or Buried Coins - Found Detecting

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by paddyman98, Apr 26, 2015.

1. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

:eek: Not long ago I was metal detecting at a local park here in New York City. This is a find that amazed me as I was metal detecting and digging out coin after coin all in a 2 foot circumference. And all about 2-3 inches deep. In total I found the following;

9 - Un Sol De Oro all 1973
    5 - 1/2 Sol De Oro all 1973
    3 - 25 Centavos all 1973
    2 - 10 Centavos all 1973
    2 - 5 Centavos all 1973
    1 - British Pound from 2003

I don't think it was an actual coin spill since all the Peruvian coins were from 1973 except the British pound. I just wonder how it got to be buried all together. Enjoy!
    Peru01.jpg Peru02.jpg Peru03.jpg Peru04.jpg Peru05.jpg
    Also, I included a picture of the park as seen from my window on the 13th floor. Where the word PERU appears on the picture is where I found these coins.
    ParkPeru.jpg

Last edited: Apr 26, 2015
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Mojavedave

Mojavedave Senior Member

Jose & Britany were having a romp in the park ?

jello, Seattlite86 and paddyman98 like this.
  4. paddyman98

Haha.. I don't know them but I do have a Peruvian friend named Jose! :D

Seattlite86 likes this.
  5. Seattlite86

Seattlite86 Outspoken Member

Great view and awesome find!

paddyman98 likes this.
  6. coinman1234

coinman1234 Not a Well-Known Member

What are the chances of finding a pile of foreign coins in a New York City park? Pretty interesting finds Paddyman, it's amazing all the people that metal detect on Cointalk!

tommyc03 and paddyman98 like this.
  7. paddyman98