Persian Siglos Questionable?

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Erhan, Jun 11, 2019.

1. Erhan

Erhan Active Member

I purchased this coin few years ago from a reputable dealer but I showed it to a friend who is expert in Persian coins and he casted some doubt. His reasoning was the bow at the hand of the king/hero is very weak compared to the other parts of the coin which is sharp and also the surface that has some tiny bubbles. What do you think of this coin?

00327q00.jpg

Alegandron, Plumbata, Paul M. and 6 others like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Bing

Bing Illegitimi non carborundum Supporter

I'm no expert like your friend, but from the image above, I would be fooled into thinking this is a good example. I checked the fake databases and found no match.

You didn't mention weight. If it's within tolerance, I think I might question your friends expertise. However, if your friend has planted a seed of doubt, you will always wonder unless you have an independent expert examine it.

Pellinore, ominus1 and Jay GT4 like this.
  4. Sallent

Sallent Live long and prosper

I see nothing suspicious about that coin. Style looks good, surfaces look good (maybe some corrosion/porosity), and the bow could just be a product of a weak uneven strike (it happens with hand-struck coins.)

If that's a fake it definitely would have fooled me too.

Last edited: Jun 12, 2019
    Pellinore and Paul M. like this.
  5. Mat

Mat Ancient Coincoholic

Looks good to me too.

6. Ken Dorney

Ken Dorney Yea, I'm Cool That Way...

Looks perfectly genuine. I see no bubbles, but he may have been mistaking them for the obvious corrosion and porosity on the surfaces. I see nothing wrong with the style.

Paul M. and Sallent like this.
  7. dougsmit

dougsmit Member