Penny Nail.. Or Nail Thru Cent

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by paddyman98, Apr 28, 2016.

1. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

No this is not another coin struck on nail find.. I'm sure that by now we all know those are made in china!
    This is something Interesting I found at work during demolition cleanup. Seems like many years ago some carpenter was striking nails through Cents for some strange reason. I've done contracting work for overs 25 years and have never seen this technique before. Here are the pictures.
    20160428_074124.jpg 20160428_073923.jpg 20160428_073938.jpg 20160428_073736.jpg

TJ1952 and old49er like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Markus1959

Markus1959 Well-Known Member

Red licorice?

silentnviolent and paddyman98 like this.
  4. Santinidollar

Santinidollar Supporter! Supporter

Strange and interesting.

paddyman98 likes this.
  5. paddyman98

Haha.. No those are like plastic anchors. :wacky:

Markus1959 likes this.
  6. Cascade

Cascade CAC Variety Nerd

My guess is a carpenter by day and numismatist by night hated the zlincoln changeover so much he held a personal protest known only to him :p

@SuperDave's gonna love this on multiple levels

TJ1952 and paddyman98 like this.
  7. SuperDave

SuperDave Free the Cartwheels!

Hilti gun loads. They're used to drive nails into concrete & block, and use .22 or .27cal blanks. The plastic finning is the equivalent of a sabot.

8. Cascade

Cascade CAC Variety Nerd

Yup. And I wonder how many people know what a sabot is. Guns and zlincols. That's 2 of what I thought you'd like. What about the galvanic corrosion of a nail through a zlincoln for 30yrs. At least 1 looks like an 85.

paddyman98 likes this.
  9. SuperDave

Putting Zlincolns out of their misery.

10. Paddy54

Paddy54 Well-Known Member

+1 sabot is a shotgun load to make the round more like a rifle bullet .