Peace Dollars

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Shrake, Jul 3, 2012.

1. Shrake

Shrake New Member

Hello All,
    So, I am new to this coin world. I have been working on many of the book/folders and collecting dates and mints from many of the more common coins. I have been thinking about finding a specific type of coin to focus on. I like the peace dollars. I like the size, design, era... So, I was wondering if anyone has any advice, pointers, or warnings about starting this collection. Thanks.

- Justin

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Cazkaboom

Cazkaboom One for all, all for me.

I like peace dollars! One warning though is to be aware of altered 1928 dollars, some people take a 28 with a mintmark and scrub that mark off and try to pass it off as an authentic '28 plain.

Here's a pic of my peace dollar:
    [​IMG]

Enjoy your collecting!

~Cannyn

4. tdogchristy90

tdogchristy90 Dieu et les Dames

5. coleguy

coleguy Coin Collector

I too love the Peace Dollar. It's not a difficult set to assemble and you can find some great pieces for little over melt. I spent about 8 years putting my Peace set together with the best matching coins I could find. It was a blast. Best of luck. Oh, I would also recommend picking up a copy of A Guide Book to Peace Dollars from Whitman books. It'll help you pick and choose the pieces that are right for you.
    Guy

6. BUncirculated

BUncirculated Well-Known Member

A must read before you start collecting Peace Dollars:

Official-Red-Book-A-Guide-Book-Peace-Dollars.jpg

7. mralexanderb

mralexanderb Coin Collector

It would be wise to study up a bit before you jump right in. The Red Book posted above it a great place to start.

8. 2schnauzers2luv

2schnauzers2luv Junior Member